Conspiracy to Riot in the Furtherance of Terrorism: Collective Autobiography of the RNC 8

By Leslie James Pickering
  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Arissa Media Group (August 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1936900181
  • ISBN-13: 978-1936900183

This collective autobiography delves into the lives of the RNC 8, who were charged with violations of the Minnesota Patriot Act for organizing logistics protests against the 2008 Republic National Convention. Offering a glimpse into the contemporary reality of dissent in America , the book explores the upbringings and early political involvements of the defendants, their infiltration of the convention, and the subsequent arrests, legal defense, and outcomes of the case. Contributors include Luce Guillén-Givins, Max Specktor, Eryn Trimmer, Monica Bicking, Robert Czernik, and Garrett Fitzgerald. Their stories provide an understanding of the political repercussions experienced by activists today as a result of protest activity.


Leslie James Pickering is a founder and former spokesperson for the North American Earth Liberation Front Press Office and has written articles for Earth First! Journal, contributed to Igniting a Revolution, and is the author of The Earth Liberation Front 1997–2002 and Mad Bomber Melville. He lives in Buffalo, New York.